OLPC Sugar on Ubuntu 7.04

I got Sugar running on Ubuntu using the Sugar on Ubuntu Linux page on the OLPC wiki. It uses Xephyr, so it runs the matchbox window manager in a full-screen window.

There was only one missing dependency, librsvg, which also stumped Guido so I’m in good company…

Here’s the Home view, which functions as a simple task switcher:

Sugar Home view

It helped that I had already experienced the XO laptop, and seen that the special keys along the top correspond to the function keys, so that I knew F3 gets you to the Home view – otherwise I would have been lost! (F1 to F4 correspond to the icons you see across the top of the frame.)

Icons in the ring show running activities. All the segments look equal to me, but the concept is that the ring is all available memory, and the activities or tasks show how much of this they are using by the amount of the ring they take up. When the ring is full, you need to close something… Maybe the sizing according to memory use isn’t implemented yet.

Here are the software components I have running:

The Gecko-based browser works:

Sugar browser

The feed reader, PenguinTV:

Sugar - Feed Reader

This seems to be not properly “sugarised” yet – I couldn’t find a way to quit the application.

Here’s Block Party – a Tetris clone:

Sugar Block Party

Other activities didn’t work yet on my system – Writer, based on abiword, wouldn’t launch at all, and Etoys and Chat both displayed only a gray screen.

It wouldn’t make sense to run Sugar on Ubuntu on the real hardware, since the OLPC distro incorporates tons of special optimisations, but this should make a reasonable development environment.

One final thing – had to ask on IRC on #sugar to find this out: To quit Sugar, use alt q.

3 Responses to “OLPC Sugar on Ubuntu 7.04”


  1. 1 Jani Monoses May 4, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Hello Morgan,

    I had a go at packaging Sugar for Ubuntu a while ago. Some bits made it to the Feisty archives, some (which are in flux thus not a good idea to get them frozen, in a 3rd party repo)
    see

    http://www.mail-archive.com/sugar@laptop.org/msg02058.html

    It just runs bare sugar and block party, the idea was to get the environment for developing activities ready. I would’ve possibly tried packaging the rest as well, but since there was not much feedback I was not motivated enough. But I may try again soon :)

  2. 2 Zachary Stern May 4, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Hmm . . . thats pretty cool . . . although I can’t quite say I understand why you’d want to run sugar over Gnome or KDE.

  3. 3 Jani Monoses May 6, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    oh, just for developing activities for the actual laptop, not as a replacement desktop :)


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

